Murray Bridge Speedway - Ultimate Sprintcar Championship


Murray Bridge Speedways news.

Williams Wins Title Number 3

The four wide salute prior to the A-Main (Phil Michell Photos)
Queenslander Liam Williams secured back to back Australian Formula 500 Championships and his third overall last night at the Murray Machining and Sheds Murray Bridge Speedway. After going into night 2 as the top qualifier he slipped back to position two for the 30-lap finale but it didn’t matter as he charged to the front to lead the entire journey defeating pole sitter Thomas Davies and hard charging Victorian Josh Buckingham.

On the podium the three-time Australian Champion has quick to praise the Murray Bridge venue for the way the event was run along with his hard-working crew.

“In that last heat race, tonight I didn’t feel as comfortable in the car so we went back to what we ran last night and the car was just perfect in the final. We all worked really hard this weekend as we knew starting up front would be key as there were so many good cars here”.

“This Title was by far the best I have been to for many years I really have got to thank Murray Bridge for putting on such a great event” added Williams on the podium.

After moving up to third just past the mid race point Stephen Bell had to settle for fourth as he edged out Chris Bellman in the run to the flag.

Next across the line was Tasmanian teenager Jock Goodyer who was one of the standouts of the weekend with Angelo Karoussis being the first local back in seventh. Tasmanian Matt Redpath, Brad Stell and Terry Rankin completed the top 10.

The feature event saw a couple of hard luck stories as one of the event favourites Jack Bell and former Victorian Champion James Aranyosi both had engine failures.

The 2018 edition of the Australian Formula 500 Title will be staged in the Northern Territory.

The Autopro Murray Bridge South Australian Speedcar Title was also conducted on the Saturday night program with New South Wales veteran Nathan Smee getting the better of teenager Kaidon Brown in what was an outstanding 30 lap decider. Third across the line was local hope Ben Hall with Michael Stewart with Murray Bridge resident Brett Ireland completing the top five.

Victorians Nick Parker, Justin McMinn, Andy Pearce and Loe Lostitch were the next best with Clint Leibhardt rounding out the top 10.

The feature race got off to a dramatic start when pole sitter and Western Australian Champion Dayne Kingshott pulled off the track just prior to the 4-wide salute with a miss fire elevation Brown onto the front row.

The event also saw another hard luck story as Travis Mills, who was mixing it for the lead with Brown and Smee, lost all drive coming off turn two and ground a halt on lap 11.

Earlier the heat race victories went to Kingshott (2), Brown and Mills while Kingshott won the top 8 pole shuffle.

The next event at the Murray Machining and Sheds Speedway will be next Sunday, April 23, with the running of the 2017 South Australian Modified Sedan Title with an early 3pm start.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Ultimate Sprintcars/h4>

Upcoming Events