Murray Bridge Speedway - Ultimate Sprintcar Championship


Murray Bridge Speedways news.

MMS Support Report - Feb 23 and 24

In addition to the 2018 South Australian Street Stock Championship – Presented by Power FM, that saw Anthony Beare secure his 9th South Australian Championship defeating Rhys Heinrich and Mark Jennings the two-night event also included a full support program of Junior Sedans, Wingless Sprints and AMCA Nationals.

The Junior Sedans were a feature on both nights with the Friday night field being split into two Main events with Nathan Thorne defeating Drew Flatman and Aaron Tranter in Group A while rookie Caitlyn Gilding claimed here first main event win as she led home Swan Hill racer Bradin Claridge and Blake Laan.

Night 2 saw the field split in a different fashion as a “Front Wheel Drive” event was run along with a separate race for “Rear Wheel Drive”. Aaron Tranter bounced back on night 2 to turn the tables on Nathan Thorne as he drove his Excel to the victory while Mac Caldecott won the “Rear Wheel Drive” race ahead of Jemma Chapman and Nate Trewin.

In the Wingless Sprints it was Spencer Taylor who took home the A-Main victory over William Caruso and last start Murray Bridge feature race winner Anthony Tapley. Fourth place went the way of Jake Ashworth with Brad Evans with Mildura rookie Jordon Bolitho, Jay Brown, Anthony McMillian and Melissa McMillan completing the field.

Earlier a field of 14 drivers fronted for competition with Spencer Taylor, Victorian Nic Green and Anthony Tapley sharing the heat race victories.

The final racing category on night 2, the AMCA Nationals, saw 9 cars in the pit area with Mildura’s Darren McCarthy dominating the night as he claimed a heat win, finished third in the other before winning the 20-lap final. Second place went to Jake Armstrong with Lachie Gwynne, Jason Robinson and Kelsey Allen completing the top 5.

The next event at the Murray Machining and Sheds Murray Bridge Speedway will be March 10 with the running of the 2018 Ross Wright Sprintcar Memorial (USC Round 6) supported by Speedcars, Formula 500’s and Super Sedans.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Ultimate Sprintcars/h4>

Upcoming Events